Sunflowers and Hummingbirds

Some of you may not know this but my family owns acreage on three separate properties in Southern Ohio.  My parents live on one and we use all three for recreation.  Lots of it is put aside in a conservation reserve program.   Next spring some acreage will be planted with prairie grasses and flowers.  One property backs up to a state park.  Between all three there is flat land, hills, creeks, cliffs and lots of wildlife.  It was a great big fun playground to grow up in!

This summer I went down for a week of R & R.   The ground in the fields was cracked but the weeds still thrived.  So well in fact I could not get through them to the creek – I was not willing to brave the poison ivy.  Some flowers were doing well too and my mother was watering the ones near the house.  Her garden was struggling as were many corn fields we passed.    My favorite flowers are the sunflowers.

Sunflowers

My mother hosts a flock of nasty little territorial hummingbirds that fight constantly over the 3 feeders – I don’t know when they ever drink!  They buzz around your head like big bees.

Ruby-throated hummingbird, fighting mode. Note the red flared neck feathers.

Of course I took some photos!  Enjoy this slideshow of some country scenes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Birdwatching, Environment, Family, Nature, Ohio, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunflowers and Hummingbirds

  1. Deb Platt says:

    Is this Ross County? I enjoyed your photos. I especially liked the “nasty” hummingbirds. 🙂 I don’t think I’ve heard them described that way before, but I know what you mean. We kind of have the same thing going with our goldfinch feeder. In ads for goldfinch feeders they’re always shown with many birds on them. But when we put one in our yard, it seems to be cornered by a single mated pair of goldfinches who will dine there together, but will drive off everyone else.

    • SallyK says:

      Our farms are in Highland County. Mom, Dad and one of my brothers live on the one that backs up to Paint Creek State Park and the other two are near Rocky Fork Lake. That’s interesting about the goldfinches, in my yard they are a friendly group like the photos and I have just a couple of hummingbirds so no fights there. At my mother’s house it’s aerial combat between the hummingbirds. When I was in New Mexico I saw feeders in the Gila Wilderness with masses of hummingbirds sharing feeders. I don’t know why my mother’s are so feisty but it is the same every year.

Don't be shy, speak up!

