Killdeer on the beach

Isn’t this a lovely watercolor of a killdeer?  But wait, it’s NOT a painting!  I took this photo at sunset on Headlands Beach using the digital zoom on my 10Mp Lumix camera.  This pretty bird led us on a merry chase down the beach,  away from where it didn’t want us to be.  Killdeer are known for leading intruders away from their nest or babies.  So we dutifully followed, snapping photo after photo.    Every time I got close enough to get this bird in focus it jumped up and moved a few feet away.   The sun was just about to sink under Lake Erie.  I finally gave up, the conditions were beyond my camera’s capabilities.

When I downloaded the photos I found this happy accident!

I have not altered this image in any way other than to add my watermark.  Sometimes even a “bad” photo turns out to be a nice image.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Beaches, Birdwatching, Nature, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, speak up!

