The Queen, my sister and me

A beautiful portrait of the young Queen

Despite our connection to the Queen of England, we have been snubbed again.  Not invited to the Royal Wedding last year, not invited to the Diamond Jubilee this year.    After all, my sister and I are named for the royal princesses.   My middle name is Elizabeth and my sister’s is Margaret. 

Future monarch, young Elizabeth and sister Margaret

The Turner princesses, Jenny Margaret and Sally Elizabeth

We may be related by blood.    If what our ancestor, Kerenhappuch Norman Turner, claimed is true, we are descended from William the Conqueror, as is the Queen. (Fun fact, the Queen is the fortieth monarch since William the Conqueror obtained the crown of England.  – 60 Facts About the Queen

Maybe they still hold a grudge against their American cousins, since our ancestors abandoned the Commonwealth then fought against the British in the Revolutionary War.    I would think after all this time we could put that old squabble aside.

Sadly, my sister and I will have to be content to watch the festivities from this side of the “pond.”  We send our British cousin, HRH Queen Elizabeth, best wishes on her Diamond Jubilee!

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Celebrities, Family, Genealogy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Queen, my sister and me

  1. Reggie says:

    This is such a beautiful, light-hearted post – I can’t imagine why you’ve not been invited, Sally! Nonetheless, I hope you enjoy watching the jubilee on the telly.

  2. Larry says:

    Hey, nobody ever said life at the top would be easy!

Don't be shy, speak up!

