The sounds of spring on Granger Pond / Veterans Park

The honking and splashing of Canadian geese.  The tapping of woodpeckers in the trees.  Frogs trilling.  The swish of fishing line flying out, the plop of the bobber hitting the water.  Kids laughing and calling out “I caught one” or “Look at the turtles!”  These are the sounds I hear when I walk around Granger Pond and through Ohio swampland in Veterans Park, Mentor, Ohio, USA.

“Veterans Park protects the largest inland pond in the county and a remnant of original Ohio swamp forest. The park offers four accessible fishing piers, a 1.78-mile loop trail though native wetlands with 830 feet of boardwalk, and a wetland/wildlife viewing area. Granger Pond is generally stocked with catfish, bass, bluegill and rainbow trout.”  -Lake Metroparks web site

I’ve written before about Veterans Park (Where the little fishies live…  and My Favorite Swamp).  This urban park is close to my home home and we head there frequently.  Each season brings it’s own delights.

Nature is just waking up on the North Coast.   While I can’t provide the park’s soundtrack here, you can use your imagination as you walk along with me.

Veteran fisherman and newbies crowd the piers.

Patience is a virtue, especially when it comes to fishing.

Canada Geese coming in for a landing.

Turtles basking in the sun.

It took me two days to spot a toad, I could hear them everywhere!

Don’t forget your fishing license and don’t feed the geese or you will have a friend for life!

In a mostly gray/brown landscape this maple really stood out.

Squaw root, a parasitic plant that grows on oak roots.  I wasn’t sure what these were and at first I thought some kids had stuck pine cones in the ground.  I touched them and found they were firmly anchored.

“Squawroot, Conopholis americana, is parasitic on oak trees. The bulk of the plant is underground where it bonds with the roots of the tree. It’s one of those odd plants that lacks chlorophyll and takes all of its energy from the host.” –Ohio Flora

These are not yet in full “bloom.”

Some cool, gnarly roots.  I think this looks like dragon legs and feet.

Skunk cabbage (symplocarpus foetidus) covers the swamp.  This a weird plant, it’s flowers emerge so early and emit such heat that they melt the snow around them.  The whole plant from flower to leaves smells terrible.  Here’s a web site with a dire warning against eating this plant – Shoots and Greens of Early Spring

You can’t walk through Veterans Park without seeing White Tailed deer.  I’ve seen as many as 8 in one trip.

A shy squirrel.

Americanus Photographus, a common species.

Veterans Park has a lovely picnic area with tables, a playground and shelter.

There are many beautiful specimen trees at the entrance to the park, including this Flowering Crab Apple.  The painted lady butterflies were in abundance!

For more info about Veterans Park and Granger Pond visit LakeMetroParks.com

Tiny Lake County, Ohio, USA. On the shores of Lake Erie.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Nature, Ohio, People watching, photography, Seasons, Spring, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The sounds of spring on Granger Pond / Veterans Park

  1. Susan Thompson says:

    I really enjoy your posts!

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I enjoyed seeing this park through your camera lens. I love boardwalks, and the one that goes past that red maple tree looks delightful.

    I’m wondering if that squawroot on the far left has already gone beyond blooming, and we are seeing this strange plant’s bloom. When it’s in flower, the flowers almost look like thin, little tubes.

    I thought it was funny that people might need to be warned against eating skunk cabbage. I had visions of someone at their kitchen island chopping up the leaves, being engulphed in a stinky stink, yet still wanting to eat it. lol

    • Deb Platt says:

      Oops… I didn’t catch this before I posted. I meant to say I think we are seeing the squawroot’s fruit… at least on that leftmost plant.

      • SallyK says:

        Although I grew up on a farm with extensive woods I had never seen squaw root before. My dad said he had, but rarely. Thanks for the comments!

        • Deb Platt says:

          The first time I saw it, I thought it was some sort of fungus. Back there I didn’t know there were any plants without chlorophyll.

          Have you seen another parastic plant called “Indian Pipe”? It’s all white and lacks chlorophyll too.

Don't be shy, speak up!

