Homemade Pop Tarts

Why you say, they are right there on the grocer’s shelf, multiple flavors, frosted AND unfrosted.  Chalk it up to a cold, snowy day and a burning desire to try something new.  Also, a jar of Nutella was just sitting there on the counter, calling my name loudly.

I remembered seeing ideas for homemade pop tarts on SmittenKitchen.com.  On that site there is also a dough recipe.  I had refrigerated pie dough on hand and didn’t really feel like firing up the stand mixer.   Got the dough out of the frig and let it warm up while we had breakfast.  Rolled it out a little more on my Wilton Roll and Cut Mat then used a pizza cutter to cut my rectangles.  I had two flavors in mind –  Nutella and fig.   No, not together.  I used a jar of the fig jam I canned this summer, adding some brown sugar and cinnamon to bump up the flavor.  It was too runny so I brought it to a boil with 1 Tbsp. of cornstarch and 1 Tbsp. of water.  This gave me the perfect texture.  I let it cool while I prepared the crust and heated the oven.

Beat one egg and brush it over the bottom square to act as glue and hold the edges together.  Put about 1 Tbsp of filling on each one, leaving room on the edges to seal.  Put on the top square, pressing the edges together.  Use a fork to seal the edges even more.

Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes, until the tops and edges are lightly browned.  Let them cool slightly – believe me when I tell you that molten jam can burn!  However, they are best eaten warm with milk or hot cocoa.  Keep in an air tight container for a week and re-heat in the oven or toaster.  You could freeze them too.  Who are we kidding?  Your family will eat them all in one day!

The pastry was nice and flaky, not like the hard crust on a commercial pop tart.  The fig jam was just the right texture, gooey not runny.  The Nutella was a surpise, it actually was firm after cooking but still delicious.

I think this would be a fun project for kids and some minis would be great finger foods for a party.  You could also brush the tops with egg whites before baking and sprinkle on white or colored sugars.  Or frost them.  I’m going to make more with my home canned preserves – cactus pear jelly filling might be interesting….

Note:  Haven’t tried Nutella?  I can’t recommend it …  unless you want to be addicted too!  Good on waffles, toast, pancakes and by the spoonful.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, photography, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Pop Tarts

  1. Christina Cronk says:

    What a great idea! I’ll have to try that with some blackberry currant jam, or maybe orange marmalade with honey… I’ve never tried Nutella but have seen it in the store and wondered if it was any good. Perhaps I’ll try it. Thank you for the suggestions.

  2. Norman Anderson says:

    What a great idea, lots of flavor options. Of course the first thing I thought about was to take it into savory territory as well – olive tapenade, chicken spread, Marmite…

  3. Larry says:

    Nutella is one of those things that just had to be banned from our home. Otherwise, a whole jar will get consumed in one sitting. I think it is made from chocolate, hazelnut paste, heroin and crack cocaine sweetened with raw cane sugar.

Don't be shy, speak up!

