To sum it all up

Dear Friends:

This is my belated Christmas letter.  You know,  0ne of those annoying tomes with all the boring stuff people you don’t even know did all year long – ther kids, their boats, their vacation houses.  Actually, I only received one this year, from my sister, and it was entertaining news all about her dog, Dyva.  I also got to read one that was sent to someone else that we made great fun of because it was SO stereotypical, but I won’t say whose it was to protect the innocent.  Read on if you dare.  We’ve had an interesting year here at the Kennedy house. 

Dana’s job went away last year and he made the decision to return to school.  Some of it’s been tougher than he thought, but sometimes I think he’s having way to much fun with it.  He was a founding member of Lakeland College’s Green Group and promptly became president because no one else would.   They started an Outdoor Market where he was Market Manager.  I think next year he’s decided to keep his hand down when anyone asks for volunteers!  He did have enough spare  time to build an electric bike and smoke a lot of meat.

Andy graduated from high school this year and started a new job.  He loves his job at the Vocational Guidance Center and his boss, Denice.   I’m amazed at the work she’s able to get out of him.  He participated in lots of activities too, from crafts to music to exercise.    He made a new friend who takes him to some activities so he’s not saddled with Mom and Dad all the time.  He turned 23 in December – seems like just yesterday he was my sweet little baby!  We commute together every morning (the bus comes WAY to early for us) which has been really fun except for when he gets mad at me for singing along with the radio.

It was a wild year at my job.  Busy summer and winter like nothing I’ve seen in the 10 years I’ ve been there.  I learned a new skill, canning, though I took it up late in the year and missed out on all the spring fruits.  Can’t wait to put up some strawberry jam next year and I plan to make A LOT of grape jelly in late summer because we go through it so fast.  I also returned to a craft I learned long ago – crocheting.  I made some gifts for Christmas, 3 scarves, 3 pairs of fingerless gloves, some little gift bags and a hat.  I find it calming and keeps my fingers out of the candy bowl.

Thankfully, all of us in our immediate and extended family are in good health this holiday season, except for the occasional cold or tummy flu.  Dana’s mother broke her shoulder this summer when she fell but she healed well.  Andy stayed with her for a week after to help her out.  He did a great job!

We got to spend lots of time with family.  Had a big crowd here at Andy’s graduation.  My brother and his wife from Denver spent a few days with us and we had a blast touring the Lake Erie shore.  Then of course all the holidays. 

So, goodbye 2010.  Don’t get me wrong, you weren’t all fun and games but we survived.

Hope you all have a Happy New Year!

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Family, Farmers Markets, Food, Holidays, Nature, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, speak up!

