Concord Grape Focaccia

Concord grapes are one of the wonderful foods that late summer brings.   A farmstand up the road from me always has a few quarts this time of year and I usually get one just to eat.  The taste takes me back to my childhood at my grandparent’s house on the farm.  They had a Concord grape arbor right next to the house and though Grandma made jelly and jam us grandkids were free to eat as much as we wanted.  They have such a fun texture, pinch the end and the pulp slips right into your mouth then, real careful, feel for the seeds with your tongue and spit!  So when I saw this recipe for Grape Focaccia with Rosemary on  Smitten Kitchen I decided I had to try it!

I headed to the farmstand up the road to see if they had any Concord grapes yet.  Hurray, there they were in all their purple spendor!   I assembled the ingredients and spent a Sunday afternoon making focaccia for the first time.  It wasn’t hard, especially if you have a mixer with a dough hook, but the rising does take time.   I only borrowed this recipe  so click over to Grape Focaccia with Rosemary for the full recipe on Smitten Kitchen.    I did take some photos along the way, so you can see how it all progressed.

First of course you’ll be mixing water, yeast and milk then add olive oil, flour and salt.  I bought this really nice KitchenAid Mixer a couple of years ago and can you believe this is the first time I have used the dough hook?  So easy, I’ll definitely be using it more in the future.  You’ll only be using 2 cups of flour so you’ll need the small bowl.

After kneading for 8 minutes scrape the dough into a bowl brushed with olive oil, brush the top with more oil and leave to rise for 1-1/2 hours, until it doubles in size.  That will leave you plenty of time to seed the grapes.

This is the only labor intensive part of the job.  Use a sharp knife and just flick the seeds out with the tip.  You’ll be eating plenty while you work, they are so yummy!  You need only a cup and a half, leaving plenty for you to eat and maybe some other people if you’re in the mood to share.

After the first rise punch down the dough, turn it out onto a floured board then divide the dough into 2 balls.  Put the balls on an oiled pan or two and allow to rise for 20 minutes.  Then pull each into a circle and allow to rise another 1-1/4 hour.  It will be lovely and puffy as above.  Looks like I need a bigger I’m pan.  I know my pan looks bad but it bakes great – I bet you have one just like it.  Maybe Santa will bring me some silicon baking sheets for Christmas!  Now you get to decorate your focaccia…

… sprinkling with grape halves, rosemary, coarse sugar and coarse salt.   Pop it in the oven for 15 minutes and voila!

Grapey, salty/sweet goodness on crusty bread.  Your house will smell wonderful, too.

We decided this looked like dinner and added some beef stick chunks made by Sand Farm, Gala apple slices from apples purchased at Secor’s Farm Market and cheddar cheese slices.  And of course, focaccia made with the lovely Concord grapes from Klutznik’s Market up the road.

So if your mouth is watering and you have some Concord grapes (or know where to get some), click on over to Smitten Kitchen’s web site for the complete recipe.  You will love her writing and her photos are much better than mine but I’m sure, thanks to her clear instructions, my focaccia tasted just as good!

Note:  Later I found some seedless Concord grapes in a local grocery store.  Hmmmmm, may taste as good but you lose the fun of spitting the seeds at your little brother!

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Recipes, Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Concord Grape Focaccia

  1. whatacraftybitch says:

    Hey, love this idea! Grapes are definately delicious little specimens and I can never think of ways to use them. Looks elegant, and I’m sure will taste great when I try it out. Hmm… I bet this would be yummy with blueberries too.

    Check out my blog:
    http://www.whatacraftybitch.wordpress.com

  2. Oh my goodness! This looks delicious! A former coworker of mine used to make Concord grape pies…they were the most delicious things I ever tasted…but this could possibly surpass them… 🙂

  3. This looks tasty and something that can be fun to do with the kids. Have you done this with any other fruit? Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  4. I make concord grape pie every year. It’s a real family favorite. Enjoyed seeing your recipe too. I agree, the seedless grapes just aren’t the same!

  5. ivanbissell says:

    I sure do hope my daughter finds this blog on her own. If not, I’ll “find” it for her! She loves to bake and I love to accomidate her creations!

  6. That looks awesome. I love anything with grapes in or on it.

  7. Omg! That looks absolutely delicious! I want that so badly right now! lol

  8. eurybe08 says:

    Great Post! My how tasty they all look like, It makes me wanna go take a trip to my favorite bake shoppe and grab a piece of pastry.

  9. wry2010 says:

    That looks delicious!

  10. busyman1918 says:

    that looks delicious its like a fruit pizza thanks for the recipe I will definitely get my hands dirty with this

  11. CrystalSpins says:

    Man it’s beautiful — it couldn’t possibly taste as good as it looks. Does it?

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  12. Looks delicious! What a neat idea to add fresh concord grapes to focaccia! (Yikes, did I spell that right?)

  13. jean says:

    Terra Bread, an artisan bakery in Vancouver, BC makes this.

    I make mine from scratch also. Sometimes I use green grapes. Before pressing in the grapes in focaccia, I embed:

    grated ginger root (I’m not modest about this.)
    Then put grapes on. Add in cinnamon, crushed aniseed, cardamon/nutmeg. I have even tried crushed, finely minced lemongrass. Sometimes I add a bit of grated lemon rind and squeeze half lemon of juice all over foaccacia.

    Lace it with honey for sweetening.

    Then pop foccacia into oven.

    Asian-inspired sweetness. Sorry don’t have measurements. It’s quite creative which is what focaccia toppings should be treated in this manner.

    For the fruit I have also tried: sliced mango, fresh cut and peeled figs, blueberries (yummy), raspberries and sliced plums.

    Enjoy!

  14. DEAR LORD! this looks delicious!!!

  15. Ahhhh FAB. I’m a big one for mixing the sweet with the savoury. Have you ever tried making betroot or courgette cake?? Gorgeously moist and light – odd how it tastes so darn good!
    x
    meandmybiro.wordpress.com

  16. I’ll so be trying this!

  17. SusanV says:

    Awesome Blog!!!! AS usual!!

  18. That looks almost identical to Deb’s! I’m so impressed. Was it difficult? Making bread makes me so nervous, too…

  19. Sunflowerdiva says:

    Wow, this looks amazing. And PURPLE!!! 😀 Great post. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed!

  20. rmaidl says:

    This looks and sounds delicious! I will definitely have to try making it! Thanks for the recipe!

    If you have time, check out my blog – I just started it a couple weeks ago so it’s still under construction, but I have some artwork and photography posted!

    http://rmaidl.wordpress.com/

  21. findachefnow says:

    Ok that looks really different in a strange probably delicious sort of way. I have made Focaccia before, it’s been a while and it was always strictly savory but im game. Ill have to try this. May-be even do a black berry version or pineapple.

  22. mythoughts76 says:

    I love making focaccia! I first learned what it was on PBS with the Frugal Gourmet. I never made it with fruit, but it sounds delicious!

  23. Holy Jeebus. I know what I’ll be doing this weekend! I love concord grapes… See? http://teapotchronicles.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/the-orgasmic-smell-of-fresh-grapes/

  24. Sinead says:

    looks really delicious 🙂

  25. Concord grapes are my favorite fruit and I wait all summer for them to come in season. I am going to have to make this as soon as I get to the farmers market to pick up some grapes. 🙂 thanks for sharing.

  26. My wife’s cousin had a Concord grape arbor in her back yard. At every family gathering her contribution was to make several Concord grape pies. I had never eaten grape pie but she made me a believer.

    Unfortunately, she lost the grape arbor in a divorce! I’m sure the divorce was hard on her children but never having grape pie again has taken its toll on me.

  27. Pingback: Grape Focaccia « Willow House Chronicles

  28. Reggie says:

    Oh my, oh my! That looks DELICIOUS! My stomach is growling just looking at those photos!

  29. Tes says:

    It looks so beautiful and sounds really delicious.
    The pictures are so stunning 🙂

  30. Pingback: End of Summer Links « An Inkophile’s Blog

Don't be shy, speak up!

