Amish Fishermen

Been traveling around the Chautauqua Lake region in New York state this weekend.  Here is something you don’t see every day….

Two Amish gentlemen hooking their boat up to their cart, Chautauqua Lake, NY.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Nature, People watching, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amish Fishermen

  1. Jenny says:

    That’s a good one!

  2. Larry says:

    First time I took a bass fishing charter out of Port Clinton we were drifting with several other charter boats over some reefs in Canadian waters.

    I don’t know why I was shocked but the fishing party on one of the boats were all Amish men. I think the ideal of the Amish engaging in recreation simply surprised me. I thought they were either working, attending religious services, or enlarging their families.

    I did notice smoke coming from their reels so I figure they used a special wood fired fishing reel made just for them. You think maybe they also have wood fired TVs?

    Now that I’m surrounded by Amish and Mennonites I know that recreation is important to them and that’s what they use every second Sunday for. They are certainly not against taking some richly deserved time off.

Don't be shy, speak up!

