My favorite Swamp

Remnant of Ohio swamp forest

We have had so much rain here lately!  How about a walk through a swamp?  This one is in Veterans Park in Mentor, Ohio, and is a remnant of an original Ohio swamp forest.  The  1.78-mile loop trail though native wetlands has 830 feet of boardwalk and a wetland/wildlife viewing area.   Also in this park, Granger Pond is generally stocked with catfish, bass, bluegill and rainbow trout and has four accessible fishing piers, usually full. The property was purchased from The Granger Family by the City of Mentor in 1970 and was Mentor’s first neighborhood park.  It is managed by Lake Metroparks.  Just a mile from our house, this is one of our favorite parks!  Thankfully, it’s still too cold for mosquitos…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Veterans Park
5740 Hopkins Road
Mentor, Ohio  44060
About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Birdwatching, History, Nature, Ohio, photography, Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My favorite Swamp

  1. Pingback: The sounds of spring on Granger Pond / Veterans Park | North Coast Muse

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I love the title of this post. 🙂 I also enjoyed the photos. I keep trying to take a photo of a pileated woodpecker, but so far I haven’t had any success.

    • SallyK says:

      What I didn’t mention in this post was how angry I was at the heavy footed jogger who, though I was right in the middle of the boardwalk stalking this pileated, pounded by me scaring the bird into the trees. Can’t help thinking what a great shot it WOULD have been had I been able to get on the other side of the downed trees before the bird was scared away.

      • Deb Platt says:

        There’s a boardwalk extending into the local reservoir where I like to go to take bird photos. However other people do scare my photographic subjects away from time to time. I don’t think they mean anything by it. They probably don’t even know what I’m trying to do.

        As to the pileated woodpecker, I usually see them under the shade of a canopy of leaves, so it’s dark and my shutter has to stay open longer. But there head’s move so fast, that I really need my shutter time to be brief. It occurred to me too late that I should try photographing them in winter when there aren’t any leaves on the trees. Maybe next year…

Don't be shy, speak up!

