Fun Photography – Mushrooms

Sometimes when walking in the woods I come across some weird stuff and mushrooms definitely fall into that category.    These photos were taken in various spots in Northeast Ohio.  I tried to ID some of them using my handy National Audobon Society Field Guide to North American Mushrooms (don’t laugh, I really own a copy), but I am no expert so help me ID them if you can.

Chicken head

I have no idea what this is, some kind of shelf fungi? Growing on a tree in Holden Arboretum

Morel

Morel, but what kind I'm not sure. Found growing right outside my back door under a rhododendron. My only regret was it was too old to eat when I found it.

Poptop

Found near a stream in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park

Flattop

Growing in bark mulch in a local park

Flattop2

Found in local park in the woods

Mushroom with leaf

Found in my neighbor's yard

Inky Cap

Inky caps - these are growing in my yard under a tulip poplar and a sugar maple - don't touch them without gloves, they turn to liquid in your hands and will stain!

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Nature, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun Photography – Mushrooms

  1. Great shots, I too love taking photos of mushrooms.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

  2. slamdunk says:

    We get alot of the same mushrooms a state over. No kidding with those hand-staining “inky caps”–something the kids found out quickly.

Don't be shy, speak up!

