My birthday on the beach

Ahhhhh, sun, sand, water

I’ve been able to spend my birthday in some pretty great places – I spent my 50th in Vancouver, BC!  But this is about my October 29 birthday this year, on the beach at Myrtle Beach State Park.  We had been in Myrtle Beach since the 24th, drove from Ohio in the pouring rain, had some days of partial sun and some more rain.  But the weatherman said the 29th would be sunny and pleasant, low humidity, comfortable temps, and he was exactly right, lucky for me.  I hope you enjoy my photos of my special day!P1030739

Boardwalk from the parking lot, over the dunes

Boardwalk to the beach, over the dunes

Flowers (asters?) on the dunes

Flowers on the dunes (asters?)

Horses and riders in the surf

Horses and riders in the surf

Beach conditions on my birthday

Ocean conditions on my birthday

Helpful signage, too cold in the water for me, so no worries!

Helpful signage, too cold in the water for me, so no worries!

Couple setting out to fish off the pier

Couple heading off for a day of fishing

Andy contemplates the scene

Andy contemplates the scene

Shell collecting

Shell collecting

Trees bend by wind, behind the dunes

Trees bent by wind, behind the dunes

US and South Carolina flags, palmetto trees behind the dunes

US and South Carolina flags, palmetto trees behind the dunes

Under the boardwalk, down by sea.....

Under the boardwalk, down by the sea.....

Barnacles on a pier support at low tide

Barnacles on a pier support at low tide

Little shells in the surf

Little shells in the surf

Rider, horse and dog enjoying the day

Rider, horse and dog enjoying the day

Can you ID this bird?

Can you ID this bird?

Sea oats

Sea oats

Corals on shell fragment

Corals on shell fragment

Pretty plates for sale in the beach shop

Pretty plates for sale in the beach shop

More riders

More riders

Ahhhhhhhhh......

Aaaaahhhhhhh ..... my day is complete!

I’m glad  you could share my beach day with me!   My birthday celebration didn’t end with the beach, it continued into a lovely evening at the Key West Grill, but that is a story for another day…..

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Family, Nature, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My birthday on the beach

Don't be shy, speak up!

