Friday Feature – Stories from the Road

 P1010569

Today I am on the road to Myrtle Beach, SC, so I’ve got “road trip” on my mind.  I love books about travel, especially books of short essays by a variety of  authors.

twcThe very first travel book I ever read, and the one that got me hooked, was Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck.  I read this book in high school in the 70’s, fascinated at how he outfitted his truck and camper, Rocinante,  to meet his travel needs and with the people he met across the country.    How he used his French poodle, Charley, as an ice breaker.  Growing up in small town America, I read this book and dreamed of traveling the country myself.  I’ve been lucky enough to be able to do that in my life, but I still love to read other about other’s experiences.  Here is a list of some of my other favorite travel/road trip books. 

  • Blue Highways:  A Journey into America by William Least Heat-Moon
  • Metal Cowboy:  Tales from the Road Less Pedaled by Joe Kurmaskie
  • The Risks of Sunbathing Topless and Other Stories from the Road compiled by Kate Chynoweth
  • I Should Have Stayed Home: The Worst Trips of the Great Writers by Roger Rapoport and Marguerita Castanera
  • A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson
  • The Wind in My Wheels: Travel Tales from the Saddle by Josie Dew
  • The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America by Bill Bryson

Notice not all these travels are in gas powered vehicles.  There are many more books I’ve read and forgotten.  They turn up again though, when browsing through the library, bookstore or my own collection – when I find them I nod and say “yes, I remember you, let’s go again.”

So, what is your favorite “road book”?  Leave me a comment, I’m always looking for the next good read and the next great trip.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Books, Review, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday Feature – Stories from the Road

  1. Catrina says:

    Have fun! Drive safe!

  2. kreme42 says:

    Love your photo – the cloud looks like a trumpeting angel calling you to the road!

  3. Larry says:

    Travels with Charlie was the first Steinbeck book I read while serving in the Navy. Another great book to keep in the car while traveling is Roadfood U.S.A. It will help you find those non-chain eateries where the locals hang out.

  4. centria says:

    I hope you have a wonderful trip! My favorite travel book is…hmmm…well, one of my favorite travel books is Tales of a Female Nomad by Rita Golden Gelman. Enjoy your travels. I love leaving the Upper Peninsula and going off on adventures. San Diego is next month!

  5. “Travels with Charley” was one of my first travel books, too! We’ve traveled with cats. Not quite the same as a dog…

    For a fantasy travel, “The Wizard of Oz” was always good. I really liked “On the Road” by Jack Kerouac. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my recent road trip.

  6. Jenny says:

    Well glad to hear you are all still alive and moving. Was wondering if you made it or not! Bengal beat the Bears really bad today.

Don't be shy, speak up!

