Nutty Apple Butter Banana Bread

P1030208

This yummy quick bread is a result of that frenzy we all go through before vacation – use it up or throw it out.  I had 2 bananas and some eggs to use up, and of course, that equals banana bread!    This recipe is based on one I found on the Splenda© recipe web site.  It is low sugar,  and lower fat since it uses no oil.  You could make it even lower in cholesterol by using Egg Beaters© equivalent to 2 eggs.  I used my Slow Cooker Apple Butter, also made with Splenda©, in place of the oil.

This is mostly a photo essay, the recipe is below.  But I did want to show off my vintage nut grinder.  I believe this one is from the 50’s, I bought it at a flea market.  It works great, my grandma had one that was similar and maybe yours did too.Nut Grinder 2  It’s one of my favorite kitchen tools.  Maybe you have one of those newfangled “food processors.”  This one does the same job, uses elbow grease instead of electricity.  Grandma was “green” before it was fashionable!  Now on with the bread making…..

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perishables: apple butter, eggs, bananas

Perishables: apple butter, eggs, bananas

Mash 2 bananas

Mash 2 bananas Combine the wet ingredients

Add wet to dry, stir to mix

Add wet to dry, stir to mix

Pour in pan and bake

Pour in pan and bake

The hard part?  Waiting for the bread to cool enough to slice!

The hard part? Waiting for the bread to cool enough to slice!

Nutty Apple Butter Banana Bread

Serves 12, 3/4 slices
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup apple butter (or apple sauce)
2 mashed very ripe bananas
1/2 Splenda© Granulated No Calorie Sweetener
1/4 Cup Spenda© Brown Sugar Blend
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans
  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a 9 x  5 inch loaf pan with non-stick spray
  2. In a large bowl, mix dry ingredients.
  3. In another bowl, mix banana and other wet ingredients.
  4. Fold in pecans
  5. Spread batter in prepared pan

Bake one hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool slightly, slice, eat heartily!  This is really good for breakfast with low-fat cream cheese.

 

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, photography, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nutty Apple Butter Banana Bread

  1. judy gill says:

    Sally I have been wondering about of and on. wondering where you were. In case you dont remember me, I worked with you at waddells years ago. We went to the Church of Christ for awhile when you kids were little also. It is good to know you are doing well.

    I wonder if I can use regular sugar in this nut bread?
    I dont like substute stuff HAHA Sounds like you have stepped up from waddells. if you can email me sometime and let me know if you remember me. Thank you

    Judy

    • SallyK says:

      Yes, you can use regular sugar, we are trying to cut down carbs and calories. You worked with my sister, Jenny. Thanks for reading!

Don't be shy, speak up!

