Squash Pie Update – Long Island Cheese Pumpkin

P1020843

Re:  My previous post Squash, Squash…… Pumpkin! A Pie Story

Got a note from my mother regarding cooking the Long Island Cheese Pumpkin:

“… I made four pies, gave 2 away and we ate the others in 2 days. I don’t think they  microwave very well, too much liquid comes out of them.  I will try the oven next time.”

Well, they do have one more person eating pie at their house than we do (2 at ours, 3 at theirs) but wow!  2 pies gone in two days?  They must be eating it for breakfast.  I wish I had a photo of my mom’s pies, she makes great pie crust!  Anyway, some good advice regarding the cooking method for this variety of squash. 

Regarding squash vs. pumpkin pie – they are very close to the same taste.  I have made many pies from butternut squash – I think they are easier to cook than pumpkin because of the shape.  If you have a very discerning palate, you may think they have a more “vegetable” taste than pumpkin which presents as a more “fruit” taste.   However, that was the interesting thing about the Long Island Cheese Pumpkin (really a squash, see previous post).  It made a sweet and creamy pulp.  If you missed my pie post, scroll on down to see how I cooked the squash and the pie.

P1020582

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, speak up!

