Independence Day

Old gas station, Lakeshore Boulevard, Willoughby, Ohio, USA.

********************************************************************************

Note to readers:  I am having an issue with my left eye that prevents me from spending prolonged periods at the computer screen.  Will be posting mostly photos until it clears up.
About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in History, Ohio, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Independence Day

  1. Very nice photo! I always liked that building when I’d pass by it!

    • SallyK says:

      Thanks, Kolman! Do you know any history of this building? I drive by it almost every day and I always wonder what it originally was and how old it is.

      • Hi Sally, No, I lived in Eastlake from 1975-1986 and drove by it all the time too. It always looked like that in the years that I’ve passed it. Interesting building isn’t it, quite beautiful!

  2. Reggie says:

    Beautiful image, Sally. I’m sorry to hear you are having a problem with your eyes – I do so hope it clears up soon. Wishing you much healing!

  3. Larry says:

    Couple of years ago someone emailed me a collection of classic service stations. I also have a couple of photo books of such that still, or once, exist along Route 66. Little reminds me of my youth more than these buildings. Probably because we hung out at one of them so much. It’s where the kids in the neighborhood went to fix a flat on their bicycle, to borrow a crescent wrench, to get some free used motor oil to oil the chain with, learn how to wash cars, change oil, and the basics of mechanics. The one in our neighborhood was the Pure Oil station owned by Johnny Buck and Homer Wheaton. They were great with putting up with us brats!

  4. SallyK says:

    Thanks Larry! I’m going to try to find out more about this building.

  5. Deb Platt says:

    Sorry to hear about your eye.

  6. SallyK says:

    Thanks Deb! It’s getting better daily.

Don't be shy, speak up!

