Down on the beach

Most of the time when I walk on the beach this is my view:

Stones washed up on the beach

Why, you say, when right before me is this vista:

Headlands Dunes Lighthouse

I am a rock hound.  I come by it honestly.  My mother still hunts for rocks, fossils and Indian artifacts.  I spent  a whole summer as a child cracking open rocks, fascinated by the fact that no one had seen their insides before.  I have a collection of interesting finds and if I go on vacation and can’t go rock hunting I will buy one or two local minerals for my collection.

 I don’t share either – if I find it, it’s mine.  One time I was on a gravel bar on a creek behind Dana’s uncle’s house.  He said, “’I would think there would be a geode or two here but I’ve never found any.”  I looked down at my feet, picked up a round stone, turned over a pretty little geode and said “Like this?”  I kept it.

Mine isn’t a rare and valuable collection, just pieces I like.  On my most recent visit to Headlands Dunes Nature Preserve I found this beauty, purple quartzite.

While looking down you can see some things you might not be looking for.  Some nice, some not so nice

This baby duck had a hard time getting past the surf

Wavy quarried stone on the eastern breakwall. A trick of the light. The color is from the sunset shining through the tree next to it.

     

Unidentified beach plant

Crow in the surf at sunset

Things that stink – fish and socks

Weird and beautiful stuff washes up on every beach.   Keep looking down and soon you will have a collection of your own!

–Photos in this story taken June 15, 2012, at Headlands Dunes State Nature Preserve, Mentor, Ohio, USA, on Lake Erie.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Beaches, Environment, Hiking, Nature, Ohio, photography, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, speak up!

