Lake Erie Today – Bug eaters

On my errands this morning I noticed this pretty cloud formation out over Lake Erie:

View to the east

I got out of the car and holey moley -  the wind nearly knocked me over!  I only live about a mile as the crow flies from the lake but the winds at my house are a gentle breeze compared to the lakefront.   Look at the little tree on the left.

View to the west

I was up on a bluff and I could feel the water spray from the lake.

We are finally in “real” spring, with longer and warmer days.  Bugs and bees have started to emerge followed by our bug eating birds.  How we’ve missed them over the winter!  The birds that is and some of the bugs, but not the mosquitos!  In the parking lot I saw European Starlings, Northern Flickers, and managed to get a photo of an Eastern Phoebe.

Eastern Phoebe

It was flying up and down in short bursts.  It looked like it was bucking the winds but maybe it was the bugs that were being blown around and it was chasing them.  

The Flickers would not pose for me.  They were digging through the mulch under a tree for some tasty tidbits but flew away when I tried to get a shot. 

 Another bird I did not get a photo of today - a Blackburnian Warbler that was eating ants in my rhododendron.    A first sighting of this bird for me!

The flag was full out

Photos taken at Mentor Beach Park, Mentor, Ohio, USA.  11: 00 am eastern time, 60 degrees

Tiny Lake County, Ohio, USA. On the shores of Lake Erie.

About SallyK

A little blog about the ordinary and not so ordinary things our family does, places we travel, things we see. Like travel, cooking, family stories, book reviews, music? You will find it all here - comments welcome!
This entry was posted in Birdwatching, Nature, Ohio, photography, Seasons, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, speak up!

